boston in the fall

We’re heading to Boston tomorrow. The flight leaves at 6:40 a.m. in the morning!! Our thinking at the time of booking was, that will help us get used to being on Eastern time. Maybe. (And maybe the kids will sleep some portion of the flights.) The part I didn’t quite fathom when we booked was that we have only 25 minutes between flights. We don’t rush particularly well. And, we’ll hit our airport before restaurants open and we won’t have time to grab lunch in Denver, so, aside from having a bag full of snacks, I’m trying to figure out what to do about that.

What’s making me very happy:

We’re getting away!

We get to wear winter clothes (it’s been over 90 here every day this week.)

I get to wear a coat I bought at Disney Paris 4 and 1/2 years ago and then I got pregnant and the coat never fit.

A week with Computerguy and our kids and no other responsibilities.

Getting to see Young Divinity Student whom I haven’t seen since last December.

Getting to meet Young Divinity Student’s Divinity Student Boyfriend.

Getting to see my two cousins in Vermont. Yay!!

It’s Boston. New York is my favorite city and London is a close second, but Boston is right up there and CG has never been. It’s also supposed to be pretty family friendly. (Oh–meant to pick up a copy of Make Way for Ducklings. Bummer.)

What’s frustrating me:

I haven’t heard from my advisor about final changes on the diss. I’m suppose to send it to the other two profs, oh, today. Monday is fine I’m sure, but, hoping she gets it to me this weekend, I have to take my laptop and work on it there (and hope I don’t need any materials that aren’t on the computer.) Then, because one of my committee members wants a hard copy, I have to email it to a friend who will print it (all 200(?) or so pages) and take it to campus.

We’re missing our extended members class at church on Sunday which is fine, but it’s probably going to be cancelled the next meeting and then who knows what will happen in December, and, darn it all, I just like going. It’s a chance to check in with people.

We have a 6:40 flight tomorrow morning.

All the stuff one has to lug around when one has small children.

Mostly it’s going to be good. I just wish I didn’t have the diss hanging over me. When we talked about Boston in the fall, I thought I’d be finished by now. I’m close, but not quite there.

This entry was posted in About Me, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to boston in the fall

  1. mompriest says:

    I hope you all have an awesome time!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

