friday five: comfort media edition

This RevGalBlogPals Friday Five comes from kathrynzj:

I don’t get to watch that much tv anymore, but I actually wrote today’s Oprah show down on my calendar. Why? Because she is hosting a Sound of Music cast reunion!!! Those of you who know me may be surprised that I would care so much about such a stereotypically girly flick, but I love it (although admittedly fast forward through the Reverend Mother’s rendition of Climb Every Mountain). I can watch this movie over and over and over again.

It seems no matter how many new movies, tv shows or books come down the pike I still have my ol’ stand by favorites that I can watch/read over and over and when I do they actually bring me comfort – like an old sweatshirt or a favorite food.

Today’s Friday Five is an opportunity for you to list five of your favorite ‘go-to’ movies/tv shows/books. You can use images, links, explanations or Netflix.

This was fun! When it comes to comfort media, I guess I am the ultimate 80’s bookworm girly girl. Who knew?

#1: I smiled when I read this Friday Five because I set my Tivo to record the same Oprah show. The Sound of Music has been my go-to film since I was in high school. It was the first non-home-vcr-recorded videotape I ever owned. Videotapes, really. It was a set of 2. My dad gave them to me as a gift. Whenever I wrote a paper late at night, I would pop The Sound of Music into the VCR, and away I would go. A few years ago (almost a decade!), some friends and I went to see the sing-along Sound of Music at the Hollywood Bowl. My friend WoodyMan and I knew not only all the songs, but also most of the dialogue. That was fun! I would have gone to the sing-along showings they were doing last week if the kids were just a little older and it hadn’t been a crazy, busy week.

#2: Little Women. I know every girl who likes reading and writing thinks she’s Jo, but, really, I’m Jo! I think Louisa May Alcott really did create a pretty universal character, but I can pick it up anytime, anywhere. I used to keep a copy on my Palm Treo. Now it’s on the iPad. I even love the professor. I have read that Louisa May Alcott brought the professor in as a kind of joke because everyone wanted her to marry Jo off to Laurie, but I always liked the professor better for Jo. I thought Laurie and Amy were, in fact, the right match.

#3 Anne of Green Gables. I came to Anne late. I didn’t read the books until after the PBS miniseries came out. A bunch of us young, single late college/early career women discovered them together thanks to PBS. Now they are a go-to thing for me and I probably read through them every other year or so. They are what I open up in the middle of the night when I can’t sleep and my mind needs distracting.

#4 Amy Grant’s Age to Age. To this day, when I am really hurting or my mind is going too fast, this is the music I play. I listened to this album over and over and over in Jr. High. Side one, turn over, side two. I know as one song finishes, what comes next (a kind of knowing that the next generation may lose). I can hear the first notes from one of these songs, and hear the whole song in my head. Even some of the goofier songs (Fat Baby?!?), I sometimes listen to (and sometimes skip).

#5 Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. I love Belle. I love that she’s a book girl. I love the songs. I love the story. I love the memories of going to the film with college friends and the play with post-college friends. I love it. I love the dancing scene. No other Disney animated film, computer or hand-drawn, has come close to it for me.

Evidently I love to watch dancing. I didn’t grow up going to the ballet or anything. We’re more of a musical comedy family. And of course we were in non-dancing churches and in the 70s and 80s that restriction included formal types of dancing. Anyway, my favorite scenes in both films I mentioned are dancing scenes. Here’s a link to the dance from Beauty and the Beast. And here is a truly terrible video recording of a television playing my very favorite scene from The Sound of Music as the Captain and Maria dance the ländler. I can’t believe there’s not a better upload of that scene.

I also love and adore this version of Beauty and the Beast. 

This entry was posted in About Me, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to friday five: comfort media edition

  1. Joolie says:

    oh, yes, yes, to Anne of Green Gables. I did read them young (I have an older sister), and reread them as recently as ten years ago (I’m probably older than you). Great list.

  2. Brittany says:

    Little Women! Love that book. And the sequel, I think it was called Little Men. I love those older Amy Grant songs too. Even the goofy ones. 🙂

  3. kathrynzj says:

    Wow. Thank you for the Amy Grant flashback (although I think my comfort cassette would be Straight Ahead).

    Thanks for playing!

  4. teri says:

    I do love Anne–so spunky! It may be time for a re-read on that series over here….

  5. The sing-along was one of the best times I’ve ever had at the Bowl! Oh to go again. We will. One day. With our kids!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

