friday five: the perfect blendship

After-college roomies circa 1995 in our apartment heading to LA for Beauty and the Beast. We all share a love of the theatre.

If you’re ever in a jam, here I am.
If you’re ever in a mess, S.O.S.
If you’re so happy, you land in jail. I’m your bail.
It’s friendship, friendship, just a perfect blendship.
When other friendships are soon forgot, ours will still be hot.

From Songbird at RevGalBlogPals:
I’m thinking a lot about friends these days, the ones who rush to you in times of trouble, with a casserole or a socket wrench or an invitation for coffee or lunch or a trip to the foot sanctuary. We meet friends in school or on the playground or at church or in the workplace and even on the Internet. Even as blogging has experienced some decline, the community here has been strong.

For today’s Friday Five, some questions about friendship.

1) Who is the first friend you remember from childhood?
It was Japan. My dad taught for the DOD. Her name was Beverly. She was from Guam. We were in preschool together. We left just after I turned 5, so I don’t remember much. I have an image of a girl with dark skin and dark curly hair. We liked playing together.

2) Have you ever received an unexpected gift from a friend?
My friend up the hill called one day asking me to meet her and a couple of her guy friends for a movie and dinner. I couldn’t make the movie, but I met them for dinner. One of those guys was Computerguy. That was a pretty big gift, especially since she lost first dibs on either of us that day. She has been very gracious about it.
I don’t know about unexpected gifts, but I have many gifts from friends and I cherish them. I look around and think, “that was from X” or “Y gave me that” and I feel loved. (Yes, gifts may be my primary love language.)

3) Is there an old friend you wish you could find again? Or have you found one via social media or the Internet?
One of my college roommates. We stayed in touch for 10 years and then slowly fell out of touch as our lives diverged. I found her on Facebook, but we have yet to reconnect in person and I long to do so.

4) Do you like to get your good friends together in a group, or do you prefer your friends one on one?
There are times to get people together in groups and there are friends I think should meet one another, but I am so a one-on-one person. The exception to this is my two after-college roommates. While I enjoy being with each of them one-on-one and we have different conversations when it is just two of us because we each share different interests, we have a wonderful dynamic when all three of us are together.

5) Does the idea of Jesus as a friend resonate with you?
Oh, yeah.

This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to friday five: the perfect blendship

  1. Jan says:

    I love the title of your blog! Me, too. Where did you live in Japan? When I was in junior high, we lived on the Navy Base in Yokosuka.

    • bookgirl71 says:

      We lived on the economy, a train ride away from Tokyo. My dad taught at Camp Zama, and I think our preschool and other activities were at Yokohama. My mom had lived on the Navy Base, I think in Yokosuka, when she was in elementary school.

  2. Purple says:

    Loved reading how you met ComputerGuy.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

