lectionary ordinary 27c–the song snippet edition

Lamentations begins as such a, well, lament. Chapter 1:1-6 is just desolate. But it is the second section, from chapter 3, that has been rattling around in my head. “The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases. His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning.” That’s not a bad thing to have rattling around.

Then there’s II Timothy. Here the translation is different, but the song is still recognizable. “For I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I’ve committed unto him against that day.”

And then there’s the Psalm. “By the waters of Babylon…” I cannot read that Psalm without thinking of the Stephen Vincent Benet short story.

Here’s my perversity, though. You know how people put lovely Scripture verses as their status updates on Facebook. For some reason, that just kind of annoys me. I have thought this week of putting the verse from Lamentations as my status, but just on principle, I won’t. Then I keep thinking I’ll put up the last verse of the Psalm, without explanation, just as if it were some lovely, inspiring scripture verse I want everyone to think about. From Psalm 137: “Happy shall he be who takes your little ones, and dashes them against the rocks!” I might do it, except people might not get that I wasn’t being serious and they might worry about me. Or it might just truly bother someone. But really, it’s in there, too.

This entry was posted in About Me, Scripture Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to lectionary ordinary 27c–the song snippet edition

  1. mompriest says:

    The readings yesterday were profoundly challenging. We didn’t use the Psalm (137) we used the second reading fom Lamentations, as a canticle, and sang it – which was beautiful. I found much to ponder in the readings, though, as my sermon suggests (for better or naught)…. And I have to say, I don’t know anyone who posts scripture verses on their FB status. But I’d find it odd, so out of context. Then again I often post odd things, out of context, on my FB, like today, “So, it’s Monday.” I mean really, what DOES that mean?

    And, when I hear “by the rivers of Babylon” Ithink of Bob Marley….but that just shows my age. LOL

    • bookgirl71 says:

      The scripture verse posting tends to be from my friends from my old (evangelical fundamentalist) life. I also have friends from all walks who post inspirational quotes. I guess it’s not that different. I’m not a fan of either–I like status updates that actually give me a glimpse into my friends’ lives– though the occasional quote doesn’t bother me, as in I just came across this and really want to share it.

      Your sermon resonated with me. Thanks.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

