the lacuna, yea or nay?

Has anyone read The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver? I’m trying to decide whether to invest my time and money. Would I like it given the following:

(a) The Bean Trees is probably one of my top ten books ever. I loved it. I was stunned and awed. I still read it every few years.

(b) Pigs in Heaven and Animal Dreams, which I snatched up after I read Bean Trees, I enjoyed but not with the same revelation that I had for Bean Trees. I also enjoyed High Tide in Tucson, though I don’t read a lot of non fiction.

(c) The Poisonwood Bible, everyone else’s favorite Kingsolver book, I waited for, was excited about, bought the hardcover as soon as it was published, and did not like. It wasn’t the religious stuff. That didn’t phase me. I just thought it was too long and got didactic and I wasn’t really fond enough of the characters. Someday, for Becka, I will re-read it.

(d) I was fine with Prodigal Summer, but not overly enamored.

So…any thoughts? The premise sounds interesting.

And here’s a fun fact: Computerguy’s grandfather actually was an artist who worked with Diego Rivera. The story goes that Frida Kahlo didn’t like him, so he was sent packing. I don’t really know anything about it, though.

This entry was posted in About Me, Books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the lacuna, yea or nay?

  1. mompriest says:

    I have loved nearly every book I bought and read by Kingsolver. So, I eagerly bought Lacuna. BUT in six months time I have read maybe 1/3 of the book.

    I am so bored reading it. It’s the diary of a boy born to a Mexican mother and an American father. The mother is forever on the search for the perfect wealthy husband, but thta eludes her. The boy is shuffled around from US to Mexico to US. He encounters Frida Kahlo and I forget the name of her husbnd/artitst withwhom she had a a long marriage marked by alcohlism, violence, and no children, plus her chronic suffering from a childhood accident.

    the diary is slow moving., there is very little character development and then only a slight amount in the main character’s self reflection in his diary.

    After six months of trying to read it I finally put it down. Giving up on it. Something I rarely do.

  2. Joolie says:

    I have a colleague – male – who recently told me this is the best book he’s read all year. I bought it in hardcover but haven’t read it yet. My favorite Kingsolver was Animal Dreams, though I also loved Prodigal Summer. Try it from the library.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

