friday five: storms of life edition

Martha Hoverson at RevGalBlogPalsbrings us this stormy Friday Five:

I’m listening this morning for word of Hurricane Earl. Is he coming to visit, or will he bypass my part of Maine and move further Downeast, or veer toward Nova Scotia? Should I buy those bottles of water, just in case wind brings branches and power lines down? And how many times will the tracking map change today?

Herewith, a Friday Five about the storms of life:

1) What’s the most common kind of storm in your neck of the woods? We don’t have storms so much as Earthquakes and Fires. We’re in the middle of fire season and it’s hot and dry. The year I met Computerguy, I was on the phone in Indiana with him here as he had his cat and computers piled in the car waiting to see if he would be evacuated. He’s fairly certain that if there hadn’t been a helicopter drop on a house just above him, his would have been gone, too. Seven years later, we still have empty lots left in our neighborhood from that fire. And some very nice rebuilt homes. And one house with a big sign on the fence that says: “God Saved Our Home” that I see when I walk and I really don’t know what to do with it, but it makes my mind hurt.

2) When was the last time you dealt with a significant power outage? Not since I was a kid living in more out-of-the-way places. We live in suburban So Cal. It’s kind of boring.

3) Are you prepared for the next one? Not really. We get lackadaisical even though we know a big earthquake could certainly bring one on.

4) What’s the weather forecast where you are this weekend? Over 100º Friday and Saturday. Back into the 90s Sunday.

5) How do you calm your personal storms? Talk them out and sleep. I miss being single and having girlfriends I could call at any hour of the day. Computerguy is a good sounding board, but he does have that masculine “fix-it” mentality.

This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to friday five: storms of life edition

  1. RevAnne says:

    Re: your #1…I get the same headache about bad weather. Grew up in Virginia Beach listening to a certain televangelist shouting about praying storms away, and always wondered why our “blessing” would come at someone else’s suffering.

  2. not any kind of storms i have locally – not easy with daily reminders of loss and devastation..
    sooo.. have your girlfriends married too? just
    wondering what’s happened to your girlfriends?

    • bookgirl71 says:

      The friends I was thinking of and I all got married within a couple of years of one another well into our thirties and we all have small children and they both moved easterly, so it’s later there. So yeah, I guess that’s what happened. I will call on the big things, but when they have a houseful and a husband and so on, one thinks about their time (and THE time) before one just picks up the phone.

  3. mompriest says:

    oh, I’d HATE that sign…like why are YOU so special? Or What does God have against everyone else? As IF. As if God picks and chooses that way. ick.

    …and now 25 years married I am grateful for both my husband and my girlfiends who I see as often as possible for a cup of coffee…well, at least as the kids got older that became easier…

  4. Oh, 100!!! That is a hot weekend! Thanks so much for playing.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

