friday five: decisions decisions

From Songbird at RevGalBlogPals:

Since I’ve been in the midst of a discernment process, I’ve done a lot of reflecting on how we make decisions. But don’t worry, I’m not going to ask you to reveal a dark story about a poor decision, or a self-flagellating story about an embarrassing one. Let’s keep it simple and go with five word pairs. Tell us which word in the pair appeals to you most, and after you’ve done all five, give us the reason why for one of them.

Here they are:

1) Cake or Pie: Pie
2) Train or Airplane: Roadtrip! But, I hate to say it, Plane over train for the convenience for long trips. Love taking the train in to LA, but can rarely make the timing work.
3) Mac or PC: Mac
4) Univocal or Equivocal: Equivocal
5) Peter or Paul:
Peter

Regarding #4) Equivocal:

I study literature, so I’ve long understood the idea of multiple meanings, though I also strongly believe that there are correct and incorrect interpretations of literature. A disservice is done to writers when students think writing can mean whatever they want it to mean. There must be justification for an interpretation.

Growing up in the Evangelical church, there are certain concepts that seem like they have a single meaning. There is no room for more than one interpretation. And, while I had come to my own conclusions on some issues that obviously could not be pigeon-holed, I didn’t get it with other issues. It took until I was in my thirties and started surfing the web and studying some of those issues, that I began to realize that there were other interpretations for certain scriptures that were completely legitimate. It was eye-opening and completely freeing for me.

Some things are so ingrained, though, that it’s a lesson I’m still learning.

This entry was posted in About Me, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to friday five: decisions decisions

  1. Mary Beth says:

    love this picture!!!! 🙂

  2. Songbird says:

    It’s both freeing and discombobulating to let go of the ingrained, isn’t it? Or at least to reconsider it.

  3. karla says:

    I love your comment about equivocal….

  4. Thank you for your comments on my blog post about equi-vocal and univocal. I just couldn’t stop thinking about it, and I became more and more grateful for the chance to learn something new about words and about myself. I so enjoy all of you RevGals!

    Many blessings to you!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

