friday five: workout edition

With a personal fitness quest and all the sports on TV this week, Mompriest at RevGalBlogPals gives us this Friday Five on working out.

For this Friday Five let’s ponder the various ways we work out (or not), physically, spiritually, and/or psychologically.

1. Do you work out physically, spiritually, or psychologically? (I’ll let you define what that might mean to you)
I’ve returned to working out physically. Mostly, I either walk outside or do a DVD workout inside. Most workout DVDs are much too difficult for my non-visual, clumsy, never-learned-to-dance self, but I discovered Leslie Sansone who keeps thinks really simple and explains those simple things well. It would be boring, I think, for most people, but really works for me. I also enjoy adding a bit of Wii fun at the end of a walk, tennis or EA’s Outdoor Challenge–don’t have Wii Fit–not really interested In it.

2. Are you more inclined to join a gym, or a book club?
Book club. I don’t like working out with anyone else around.

3. Are you more inclined to read self-help books like Gail Sheehy’s “Passages” or spiritual books like Richard Rohr or Theresa of Avila? And if so, what is your favorite?
I’m more likely to read a good cozy mystery. I suppose, of the choices, spiritual books. The spiritual books I read most often are Madeleine L’Engle’s devotional books. As I think about it, spiritual reading is kind of something I would have to have discovered for myself, and I don’t know quite how I would have done that. Evangelical churches tend to look askance at what I think this means by “spiritual books” I never got too far with Evangelical “self-help” books. I head for vacation in a few weeks and I’m open to recommendations to fill in this gap.
I should add, I’ve done Julian and Margery in my studies and I adore Julian. I also have worked with Donne and Herbert and some of the other metaphysicals, and really love their grappling with spiritual things.

4. Are you a loyal fan of a sports team? Or do you join the bandwagon when the local team is winning? And, if so, which one?
One tends to pick Angels or Dodgers out here (though I don’t think the rivalry is anything like that in, say, Chicago) so I consider myself an Angels fan, but we’re just not sports people. I do love to watch soccer and am watching match one of the World Cup as I write. I’ll root for the US for as long as we stay in.

5. Or do you lean more toward having a favorite theologian/Spiritual writer or self help author and if so, who? And, why.
See above: Madeleine L’Engle. I know she’s not a theologian proper, but I can’t help it.

Bonus: What was the last play-off series you watched and did your team win?
Last fall we went to a young friend’s soccer tournament. Her team won the first night, but not the second.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to friday five: workout edition

  1. mompriest says:

    oh, yes, I do love Herbert and Julian – excellent. We have a fun rivalry here in Chicago between the Cubs and White Sox, at least in my family…I appreciate your responses – thanks for playing!

  2. Althea Agape says:

    I just re-read a wrinkle in time and that made we want to go back and re-read the Riddlemaster of Hed. Madeline L’Engle qualifies for me!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

