my lack of music appreciation

After writing about my grandfather, everything else seems kind of trivial, but I’ll give it a shot. We had a good Easter. On the way out of church, Computerguy told our pastor how especially great the service was. That surprised me. I had enjoyed it, but hadn’t thought about it one way or another. As I thought about it, I eventually realized that it was the music. A brass ensemble played and the choir sang the Hallelujah Chorus from Handel’s Messiah and it was pretty splendid. But I don’t really get music. I love it. I usually have something playing in the background (Iona as I write). But for me, music is something to fill the silence in the background or it’s about the lyrics. I actually find classical concerts kind of painful. I don’t like that about myself, but there it is. Take me to a play anytime and I adore musicals, but I have to have the story. And music is music. If I grew up with it, I like it. If it’s rousing, I like it. If it tells a good story, I like it. It doesn’t have to be good, and I can’t really tell you what is good. Computerguy is all about the music. We could never go to a contemporary church because he would hate the music, and so much of it for him is the music. So I’m sure he enjoyed the sermon. It was the kind of personal, informal sermon he really likes. And he may have been moved by the liturgy–I don’t really know; that’s my department. But I know he loved the music and because of that, he mentioned several times what a great service it was. And it really was. Alleluia. Christ is risen.

This entry was posted in About Me, Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

