the treadmill

Was I ever that skinny?

At my best, I was walking 4 miles a day on the treadmill at an incline (honestly–I couldn’t figure out how to even out the treadmill so I just used the incline–probably one of the best accidents in my exercise program–serendipity). I did about 3 of those miles at about 4.3 mph. The other mile was split between warm up and cool down at a slightly slower pace. That felt really good. It took me a long time to work up to that, a lot of miles at 3.3 mph, 3.5 mph, 3.7 mph. I was so proud when I did my first 4.o mph mile. At that point, I was living alone and was able to turn up the TV and have at it after I got home from teaching every day. Now I prefer to do anything other than the treadmill–like walk outside in this beautiful spring before it gets too hot–but I know I get a better workout on the treadmill. The only problem is, I don’t know how good the workout is. The data part of the treadmill isn’t working. I can still use the machine and get the same workout, but I can’t see the numbers. I have a pretty good feel for what I’m doing, but I don’t really know. I know the length of time, but not the speed or distance. I want the numbers. I want to work back up to that 4 mph mile. And I have a hard time keeping at it without those goals. But it’s still good for me and I’m back to trying.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

