what we’ve been doing

Life moves on apace. I started with a new title at church: Associate for Worship. Among other things, I picked up the church newsletter and gave up website updating. I’m off Session and no longer chair of the nurture committee, but I’m still coordinating children’s church school.

Wordgirl has had her first real Disney Movie experience/obsession with Frozen. She and two of her friends are practicing “Let It Go” constantly for the talent show auditions this Thursday. I took her and her friends to see the sing-along version on Saturday. Nothing but fun! She turns 7 in twelve days.

Shyguy is planning an elaborate battle for his birthday party in April, when he will turn 5. He wants a Star Wars party, but a sword fight. He wants to invite the big kids who spend more time with us because they are the car pool set and who watch over him and will battle nicely. He’s not so interested in his preschool classmates.

Our local small time miniature golf/bumper boat/arcade amusement park has been struggling somewhat. They have beefed up the water park side, adding water slides. Last year, they turned the building into a trampoline park. They have a 24 square big trampoline, a big dodgeball trampoline, a pit one can dive or flip or jump into, an American Gladiator style jousting pit, and a climbing wall. They are trying to make the place work, and they have some good deals. We had Wordgirl’s soccer party there, and then went back for another Thursday deal: 4 jumpers x 1 hr + a pizza and pitcher of lemonade for $20. Great deal. (And it turns out that an hour is PLENTY of jumping time.)

photo 1 skytownAt Christmastime they were offering deals on water park season passes and threw in 3 months at the trampoline park for $10. We got them for the whole family, and our kids’ school/church friends got them for their kids. It’s been a lot of fun and a good workout. We’ve tried to go 2 to 3 times a week, and I make myself jump at least 15 minutes each time we go. Shyguy likes the sword fighting video game even more than jumping, but he really likes jumping into the pit.

This entry was posted in About Me, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to what we’ve been doing

  1. deanna Long says:

    Delightful fun….and your new position!

  2. Charlie says:

    We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content for you personally?

    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write about here.
    Again, awesome web log!

  3. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after
    browsing through some of the posts I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I came across it
    and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  4. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar
    one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  5. ROPA ONLINE says:

    Hi there, I check your new stuff regularly. Your humoristic style is witty,
    keep doing what you’re doing!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

